The others
    (2002, original release: 2001)



    Call Numbers:
Login to place a hold on this item
Enter your AHML username.
Enter the password that accompanies your username.


Locations Call Number Status
Movies DVD/DRAMA/OTHERS Available


Burbank, Calif. : Dimension Home Video : distributed by Buena Vista Home Entertainment, [2002]
Widescreen version (1.85:1)
2 videodiscs (104 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in
0788832093 24168

Originally produced as a motion picture in 2001

A devoutly religious mother of two ailing children has moved with her family to a mansion on the English coast. Her two children both suffer from a rare photosensitivity disease that renders them extremely vulnerable to sunlight, prompting the rule of having only one door open in the house at a time. When one of the children claims to see ghosts, Grace at first believes her newly arrived family of eccentric servants to be responsible, but chilling events and visions soon lead her to believe that something supernatural is indeed going on

Special features: never-before-seen extras; theatrical trailer; 'A look inside "The others"' - 30 minute documentary; visual EFX featurette; "A world without sun" - the real XP; "Behind closed doors" - original behind-the-scenes featurette; "The others" photo album

Director of photography, Javier Aguirresarobe ; editor, Nacho Ruiz Capillas ; music, Alejandro Amenábar ; costume designer, Sonia Grande ; production designer, Benjamin Fernández

Nicole Kidman, Fionnula Flanagan, Christopher Eccleston, Alakina Mann, James Bentley, Eric Sykes, Elaine Cassidy

MPAA rating: PG-13

Also issued on VHS

DVD, 5.1 Dolby digital

English or French dialogue, Spanish or English subtitles

Goya Awards: 2002, Best Cinematography (Mejor Fotografía - Javier Aguirresarobe); Best Director (Mejor Director - Alejandro Amenábar); Best Editing (Mejor Montaje - Nacho Ruiz Capillas); Best Film (Mejor Película); Best Production Design (Mejor Dirección Artística - Benjamín Fernández); Best Production Supervision (Mejor Dirección de Producción - Miguel Ángel González, Emiliano Otegui); Best Screenplay - Original (Mejor Guión Original) Alejandro Amenábar

Additional Credits