Reading Recommendations

cover image Charlie Bone and the Castle of Mirrors by Jenny Nimmo
Reviewed by Jacob on 12/29/11
A friend of mine recommended this book to me. I really liked it. I could not put this book down! This book is about a boy who wants to find his father. His name is Charlie. He has a special power that is really cool. He has a lot of adventures throughout the book. What is neat about this book is that you do not need to read book number 1 first to understand any other book in the series. You can just pick any book in the series and you can easily follow the plot.
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Aladdin - As You Wish by Melissa Lagonegro
Reviewed by Julianna M on 12/29/11
I really liked this book. It was easy for me to ready with a little help from my mom. I like all the Step Into Reading (no. 1) books! Aladdin is my favorite! I liked the most that it is a rhyming book. I also liked the pictures!
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Reviewed by Cynthia on 12/26/11
This book is my favorite. It was suspenseful. I couldn't put it down. The setting and characters were interesting.
Grades 7 - 8
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Clique by Lisi Harrison
Reviewed by Lauren on 10/08/11
This Book is a awesome book! It's about these girls who have a clique (Dylan,Alicia,Kristen and Massie)then this girlnamed claire comes to massie's house because there parents dont have enough money to buy there own house so they stay in there guestroom claire's and massie's parents used to be good friends. claire's parents brought massie this microphone charm bracelet(gold)because when massie was younger she loved to sing.(but all that has changed)Massie isnt really pleased with the idea of Claire staying in their guestroom that's why Massie tries to prank her.There is sooo MUCH MORE to this book and its AWESOME read it and you will LOVE it like I DO!!!!!! (There is Clique series to this book) Book #2 Best Friends For Never Book #3 Revenge Of The Wannabes Book #4 Invasion Of The Boy Snatchers Book #5 The Pretty Commite Strikes Back Book #6 Dial L For Loser Book #7 It's Not Easy Being Mean Book #8 Sealed With A Diss Book #9 Bratfest At Tiffany's MORE Series At lisiharrison.com
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Naked Mole Rat Letters by Mary Amato
Reviewed by Alice D. on 09/19/11
This is a really great book! I read this book in 3rd grade and I really loved it! It has a happy ending to it! I really hope you read this and I hope you like it so much!
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Twelve by Lauren Myracle
Reviewed by Lauren on 08/12/11
It's about this girl named Winnie who loves middle school because of her friends. Also because of this special someone? Is name is Larson? But Winnie calls him Lars. Will Winnie be is girl? Or not? There is more to it but I dont want to ruin the fun for this book. So read this book and you will enjoy it!!!!!
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Nate The Great by Marjorie Weinman Sharmat
Reviewed by akshay on 08/10/11
I liked the detective Nate he is just what I want to be.
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Letters From The Heart by Annie Bryant
Reviewed by Lauren on 07/29/11
This book is about The Beacon Street Girls, Charlotte, Katani, Avery,Isabel,Maeve.
Maeve is working on a project for makin blankets to the Homeless kids! The project is called, Project Thread!
So... Maeve wins the award for Project Thread! But her parents have been arguing alot! So.. they get Divorced and Maeve didn't know this so.... she told her parents about her award and their parents hug each other but they make a weird face to each other! Maeve is trying to figure out what is going on! But then her mom says what their gonna do which is getting divorced! Then Maeve has to go to her Dad's on Friday,but she has a date with the one she loves Dillon!!!! So.... Maeve lies to her Dad about hanging out with her friends! Then Dad calls..... but Maeve isn't there! So Maeve's Dad is WORRIED! Later.... he decides to call Maeve when Maeve saw her fone she was like OMg! Then she says she's at her firends and everything but her dad says I called your friends and they said you weren't there! Maeve was like soo..... BUSTED!! Maeve explains everything to her dad but he doesn't like how she lied to him! 
More things happen in this book but I'm not going to tell you the special ADVENTURE with some guinea pigs!
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Judy Moody Around The World In 8.5 Days by Megan McDonald
Reviewed by A on 07/29/11
This book is a great story about Judy Moody and her friends. Judy and another third grade class are paired up for a project ,where each group has a country,and they do a project with any fun activites they plan. Judy and her friends Rocky and Frank are in her group along with Jessica Finch.Their country is Italy. A new student in the other class named Amy Namey kid reaporter comes to Judy's school.Judy does not like Amy. Judy and Amy are alot alike,and they even both have names that ryhme.Amy and Judy are becoming good friends.At first Judy told Rocky and Frank that she did not like Amy.Judy joins a club called "My Name is a Poem Club," that Jessica told Judy about. When Judy's group plans to go and practice the Tarantella an Italian dance.Before judy goes to Amy's to do some activites for the "My Name is a Poem Club."Judy also brought a make your own gum kit because the two of them are into a thing called ''The Wall of Gum.'' The were having such a sticky fun time that Judy forgot to go practice her group dance.Her group had gotten so angry at Judy that they would not talk to her! They thought that she spent too much time with Amy. Judy planed a game with pasta, that her group ate raw. And a tower made of pizza tables that her group had placed in a warm spot,which melted. Judy's group ruined every single thing Judy had made! Judy had even had to have more time to make the project because her group would not talk to her. In the end Amy,Frank,Judy,And Rocky become good friends. And every thing is just right! THE END It was really good and I loved it. ENJOY!!!!!!!!! :)
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
Reviewed by Michael W on 07/28/11
Rick Riordan has done it again!
He has started yet another serious of mythology, and this time, even combining Roman mythology. Using new characters and past characters, he has created a good, heart-racing plot that will be continued throughout the series. The way he finishes his book, makes you want to read on, and never stop. And the way he finishes his book makes you want to die for the next book. This was, one of the few books that have really taken me over, and it is one of my favorite books.
Grades 7 - 8
Check catalog for this item

Live Chat

 

 

Follow Us

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on YouTube See AHML photos on Flickr! Download the AHML Mobile App

 

Home  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Site Search  |  Sitemap  |  Donate  |  Contact

Arlington Heights Memorial Library / 500 N. Dunton Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5910  Tel: 847-392-0100 / Fax: 847-506-2650

Library Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 a.m.-10 p.m. / Sat: 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. / Sun: Noon-5:30 p.m.

© ARLINGTON HEIGHTS MEMORIAL LIBRARY