Reading Recommendations

cover image Monster High by Lisi Harrison
Reviewed by Seray on 04/08/12
Monster High is all about monsters like the Frakenstein or the Dracula and normies go to this school to. And in this book there will be shock,drama,and alot of fashion brands!. And when I read this book i loved like I KEPT READING IT OVER AGAIN AND AGAIN! so I rate this book 5 stars! since it's such a delightful book!
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Pretty Committee Strikes Back by Lisi Harrison
Reviewed by Lauren on 03/05/12
This book is #5 from the Lisi Harrison series "The Clique." This book is about Massie,Claire,Kristen,Alicia, & Dylan. The girls go to camp called "Lake Placid" except Kirsten because she can't afford to go. Since Massie likes Derrington she wants to be the first girl from her friends to get the "kissing" experience but it was too late since Claire was the first one with Josh, the boy Alicia likes. Claire kissed Josh because Cam wouldn't talk to her,as in send her e-mails and send her a pack of gummy worms. So when they were at Lake Placid, Claire taught Massie how to kiss in her MUCK (Massie's Underground Clinic for Kissing) After Claire taught Massie how to kiss, she and Cam made up & started talking again. Then Massie & Derrington got in a fight then at that very moment they made up & kissed.(This paragraph is shorten but their is more to it soo... READ THE BOOK!) Then when the girls are asleep Kristen comes because she sneaked in with the rest of the________ (Fill in the blank means:READ THE BOOK TO FIND OUT) Then Dylan's Mom & her Geometry teacher flirt together & Dylan doesn't like it so she decides to run in the woods by herself, but her friends run after her. When they were at the woods Claire remembered that their Geometry teacher said "If you run in the woods without a supervised staff you get suspended." Of course they didn't care so they stayed. While they stayed they got lost......After they noticed Massie had a compass on her necklace they found the way out & went back to the cabin. In the cabin Dylan's mom & the Geometry teacher were waiting to give them the bad news that they were all suspended.
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image So B. It by Sarah Weeks
Reviewed by Karie P - BeatlesMonkees on 03/05/12
So B It is one of the best books I have ever read. The book is about a girl a named Heidi living with her mentally disabled mother who can't take care of her daughter or herself. Long ago Heidi and her mother arrived at a lady's doorsteps that lady's name was Bernadette she took them under her wing. Her mother only knew 23 words common words exepct for one, Soof. Heidi feels that she needs to find out what that word means so she goes on a misson to find out. A great book for 6-9 grade. I give it 5 stars.
Grades 7 - 8
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan
Reviewed by Luke M on 02/08/12
The Lost hero is about Jason, Piper, and Leo. Jason wakes up on a bus with a strange girl holding his hand. He doesn't no his name or this girls name he doesn't remember anything. Leo Is a orphan and is all ways on the run. Piper is a daughter of Tristan McLean and she doesn't like to use her dad as a bragging right. She doesn't want her dad to by all of these fancy clothes, she just wants to be normal. They found Camp Half Blood and they get assigned a quest to go save Hera and get Jason's memory back. This is a wild adventure filled with suspense, excitement and wonder. Read this book to join them in their adventure.
Grades 3 - 4
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan
Reviewed by Spencer B on 02/08/12
The Son of Neptune is a sequal to The Lost Hero. The Son of Neptune is about Percy Jackson, Frank, and Hazel. Percy wakes up in a wolf house with all his memory erased. Frank is a klutz who's mom died in the war and he hopes his godly parent is Apollo. Who is great at archery just like Frank. Hazel is supposed to be dead. She summond one of Gaea's giants. That want to take over the god's. Gaea is waking and when Gaea awakes the world the way we know will be destoryed. Percy, Frank, and Hazel are part of the propchey of seven. Witch involves opening the doors of death, but they can't do that without Thanatos. The god of death. Join Percy,Frank and Hazel on their quest to free Thanatos. Read to find out if they can do it and stay alive with their dangers of monsters.
Grades 3 - 4
Check catalog for this item

cover image Twister on Tuesday - MTH #23 by Mary Pope Osborne
Reviewed by Zachary G. on 01/29/12
The book is about a tornado that makes a lot of noise. Jack and Annie go to a school that they didn't know they would run into and the school only had 3 people. I liked this book!
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Fever 1793 by Laurie Halse Anderson
Reviewed by Vikki V on 01/28/12
You probably don't know me very well and I must say, I LOVE books and am constantly reading them and will throw down a book in disgust if my favorite character in a book dies\gets hurt. So it is hard for me to choose a favorite book. This IS my favorite book that I have been looking for all these years. It is very engaging and even though I read it almost a year ago now, I still remember every detail. This book will stick in your mind. The plot is incredible and as a junior author myself, I must personally congratulate Mrs. Anderson, she is a wonderful writer using the most spendid of details while keeping us stuck to the book, thinking, "What's going to happen next?!?" Not only is there a beautiful story hidden from cover to cover, but we are learning about yello fever in 1793, an epidemic we have forgotten and must be reminded of, which Laurie does a great job doing. I am warning you: once you pick up this book, you shall be carried back 300 years and find yourself calling you "Mattie", the main character in this enchanting book, who finds her and everything that matters sick, and encounters death knocking at the door, sorrow, and hope. Someone, someone that I don't know the name of, is commanding you to read this book, open your eyes and imagine. And to not put it down until your finished, which I had no trouble obeying. I hope you like this book as much as I do! Until I read another great book, Vikki Vonde A.K.A. Mattie :)
Grades 3 - 4
Check catalog for this item

cover image Hello, Robots by Bob Staake
Reviewed by MB on 01/28/12
My 3 1/2 yr old son made me read this book to him several times. He is really into robots. The book is about 4 robots. Each of the robots has specific type of tasks it undertakes. One cooks, one fixes things, one cleans the yard and one cleans the house. All is well until they get caught in a storm and malfunction. The robots figure out how to fix themselves and resume their wonderful life of doing their chores. We wish we had these 4 robots helping us at home.
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Super Fly Guy by Tedd Arnold
Reviewed by Allison.H on 01/28/12
Fly Guy went to school with Buzz. Fly Guy caused trouble for the lunch lady. I like the ending. It is a great book!
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Invasion of The Boy Snatchers by Lisi Harrison
Reviewed by Lauren on 01/27/12
This book is mostly mainly about Alicia's cousin Nina who flirts with boys and steals them. She steals her friends boyfriends because she wants them to be jealous and she has experience before she came from Spain. Claire and Massie HATE Nina and are there rivals. But Dylan and Kristen LOVE her because 1. She has totally cool BOOTS 2.She has experience with boys. That's why they make a bet of who kisses a guy/boy first gets 3 pairs of boots form Nina. But Nina isn't a TRUE friends because she's a total thief! Nina stole Massie's Hair Crimper and Gossip Girl Lipgloss(Cotton Candy) that arrives every morning. Kristen's Bike Lock, Her sisters shoes which are in Spain. That's why her sisters call everytime but Nina always makes an excuse so she won't talk to them. Then when Alicia announces that their is a Love Struck Dance & a Cupid Award there's a game that goes with it then, Nina tried to SNATCH Claire,Massie,and Alicia's Crushes by telling them: "To win the Cupid Award is to avoid Claire, Massie, and Alicia." "Now, they all agree to this". There is soooooo MUCH OTHER IMPORTANT things about this book but I think you should read it then do a review yourself! : )
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

Live Chat

 

 

Follow Us

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on YouTube See AHML photos on Flickr! Download the AHML Mobile App

 

Home  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Site Search  |  Sitemap  |  Donate  |  Contact

Arlington Heights Memorial Library / 500 N. Dunton Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5910  Tel: 847-392-0100 / Fax: 847-506-2650

Library Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 a.m.-10 p.m. / Sat: 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. / Sun: Noon-5:30 p.m.

© ARLINGTON HEIGHTS MEMORIAL LIBRARY