Reading Recommendations

cover image Brown Bear, Brown Bear by Bill Martin
Reviewed by Marco on 02/02/14
This is a great book. I like all the different animals. The pictures are great. It is also a good book because a toddler can learn the name of different animals and also learn their colors.
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
Reviewed by Marco Riegler on 02/02/14
This is an excellent book. I like all the different foods the caterpillar eats and the pictures are very colorful. It is also helps you to learn how a caterpillar becomes a butterfly.
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Trouble With Chickens by J.J. Tully
Reviewed by Mary Petrelis on 01/30/14
I like The Trouble With Chickens.  It is hilarious because the chickens cause a lot of trouble.
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Usborne Illustrated Stories for Boys, "Robot Robbery" by Russell Punter by Edited by Lesley Sims and Louie Stowell
Reviewed by Nicholas S. on 01/28/14
Robot Robbery is a good story because there's a good robot in it named Jay and there's a bad guy in it
named Filch.   Filch tries to program Jay, the robot, to rob a bank.  Read this exciting story to find out if Jay 
really does rob the bank.  
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Junie B.Jones Has a Monster Under Her Bed by Barbara Park
Reviewed by Anna on 01/25/14
I like Junie.B Jones book because she is funny and sometimes crazy.  This book is about a monster under everybody's bed. One friend told her there is a monster under her bed and Junie.B gets scared. One day she thought there was a monster under her bed... 
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Fly Guy by Tedd Arnold
Reviewed by Dominic G on 12/23/13
My Favorite thing about the book was when they played hide and seek and Fly Guy was hiding
in the trash can. I love this book I give it 15 out of 15 stars.
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Mr. Popper's penguins by Florence and Richard Atwater
Reviewed by A on 09/15/13
This is by far my favorite book ever! It is really cute. It is espically  fun and cozy to read it during the holidays in winter. It is about a normal family that get a penguin. Then they continue to get more penguins. Eventually they make the penguins famous! I won't tell you any more but a whole lot happens. I will guarantee that you will love this book! 5 out of 5 stars! Super funny made me laugh! This book is 100 times better then the movie too! It is nothing like the movie. In this book the family is really close and it is in the past olden days! Enjoy this book! Thanks! :)

Check catalog for this item

cover image Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
Reviewed by Andrew on 09/15/13
When Stargirl moves to town, Leo gets caught by surprise. He witnesses all of the strange things that Stargirl does and comes to love her. But when the rest of the school shuns her, it's up to Leo to save her from the mean people around her.
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Reviewed by Andrew on 08/21/13
When Raina trips on the hard floor, all hope of becoming popular in middle school is lost. She has to deal with boys, her friends teasing her, and many dentist and orthodontist appointments. Will she get through middle school and high school?
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann
Reviewed by Anja B. on 07/22/13
In the land of Quill, twins Alex and Aaron get separated at their community's only holiday,the Purge. The Purge is when all the thirteen-year-olds get put into groups, Wanted, Necessary, and Unwanted. Wanteds get to go to Quill's eqivalent of the army, Necessaries work on farms, and the Unwanteds die. When Alex and Aaron get separated, what will happen? This book was so good in many ways. Each chapter had many characters' perspectives. It connected to how we feel about siblings, how we hate and love them; just in this book, Alex and Aaron seem to hate each other more than love each other. If you like fantasy, dystopian or novels that have magic and major good versus bad fights, this book is good for you!
 
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

Live Chat

 

 

Follow Us

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on YouTube See AHML photos on Flickr! Download the AHML Mobile App

 

Home  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Site Search  |  Sitemap  |  Donate  |  Contact

Arlington Heights Memorial Library / 500 N. Dunton Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5910  Tel: 847-392-0100 / Fax: 847-506-2650

Library Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 a.m.-10 p.m. / Sat: 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. / Sun: Noon-5:30 p.m.

© ARLINGTON HEIGHTS MEMORIAL LIBRARY