Reading Recommendations

cover image The Mostly True adventures of homer.p.figg  by Rodman philbrick
Reviewed by joshua on 01/22/12
This book is about a boy who lives in a barn with a evil guy who sends harold away to war then he uses bob to find his brother homer must find his brother before he gets killed he then runs into stink and smelt to bad guys and then he escapes to the brewers house then he goes on a train to Portland and a steam ship to New York where they mr willow and homer meet frank and kate mr willow marrys kate and leaves homer alone so read the book to find out if homer will make it before harold gets killed and I like this book because it's in world war 2
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Cars and Trucks and Things That Go by Richard Scarry
Reviewed by Peyton on 01/20/12
I like this book because I like to read about the Pig Family and the cars they see when they drive to have a picnic. I like to read it with my mom. I like to read it with my Dad too. I like Goldbug in the story.
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Thomas-saurus Rex by Illustrated by Richard Courtney
Reviewed by Jake on 01/18/12

I love this book because it has trains and a dinosaur in it. It also makes me laugh and smile.

Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Dr. Seuss Horay for Diffendoofer Day! by Jack Prelutsky and Lane Smith
Reviewed by David on 01/18/12

I really liked it. Dr. Seuss is one of my favorite authors and this book makes me laugh. I like when people read it to me.

Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Greetings from Nowhere by Barbara O'Connor
Reviewed by Alice D. on 01/16/12
This is such a heart-whelming book! Aggie tries to sell her motel and someone buys it but....the real mystery is whether she still gets to live in her motel or not because at the last minute she decides to stay
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image please write in this book by Amato, Mary
Reviewed by Sihyun on 01/14/12
This book is a book of diary format. Like a Diary of wimpy kid or Dork. Also I love this book. .................................... Summary At school,during the reading time for the writer's coner,Lizzy found this book. and next day other girl found too! And next day 2boys found this book. So they are share and take a turn,wrote the diary. Lizzy's rule is do not write joke or lie. The girls are follow the rule,but boys didn't follow the rule. So girls are angry and they did not want to write share that anymore. And they put book in girls'bathroom. Next day boys could't find book. one boys thought maybe the book in the girls' bathroom. So they went girls'bathroom and they brought book. ................................................... I hope our class has a that book! and I'm going to share with my friends! And I want to my friends got read this book.
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image A Calvin and Hobbes THE REVENGE OF THE BABY SAT by Bill Watterson
Reviewed by Danhee on 01/13/12
The Calvin and Hobbes they are best buddy. Hobbes is tiger doll but Calvin and Hobbes they can talk, play and figth. Because the only Calvin can belive Hobbes,like Hobbes is alive. suddenly Calvin's family they need take a picture so his father said,"ready?ok, give me a nice smile." but he made a creepy and funny face. so father try one more time but the Calvin he made again creepy face. So his father like kind of angry but Calvin said,"that was a smile!I smiled! And go back to the house his parents looked pictures and they like said,"we can't send these in our christmas cards. people will think it's scarileglous." and "well thses to look like Calvin except for the combed hair." And I felt they look really frindlly and cute. Becaue the Calvin dosen't have brother or sister but he have Hobbes, sometimes they are fight and alwaly Calvin is back home Hobbes catch the Calvin, but in the school he miss Hobbes and Hobbes is best frind for him.
Grades 7 - 8
Check catalog for this item

cover image Riding Freedom by Pam Muñoz Ryan
Reviewed by Liana on 01/06/12
Very nice book about horses, though it is a little sad, it is a really good book. I would definitely recommend it.
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Regarding the Fountain by Kate Klise
It was a great book. I liked it because there was a mix of words and pictures on the pages. They told the story through a bunch of letters. This made reading go very quick and very fun!
Grades 3 - 4
Check catalog for this item

cover image Oggie Cooder by Sarah Weeks
Reviewed by Emma H on 12/30/11
It is an amazing story about a boy (Oggie Cooder)who bits cheese into different states. People call Oggie names loser and weirdo. Then a TV show comes to town called Hidden Talents and Donnica Perfecto tricks Oggie into teaching her how to carve of what Oggie calls it charving. Next Donnica goes to try out for Hidden Talents but the cheese was not the right temperature so Oggie showed her how to do it with a piece of cheese he brought. The judges were so amazed with Oggies perfect Texas. They told Oggie that he made it on the show. For the next couple days people were dressing like Oggie following him around. Finally Oggie had enough he told everyone that he wanted to go back to his normal life. After that Oggies life went back to normal.
Grades 3 - 4
Check catalog for this item

Live Chat

 

 

Follow Us

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on YouTube See AHML photos on Flickr! Download the AHML Mobile App

 

Home  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Site Search  |  Sitemap  |  Donate  |  Contact

Arlington Heights Memorial Library / 500 N. Dunton Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5910  Tel: 847-392-0100 / Fax: 847-506-2650

Library Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 a.m.-10 p.m. / Sat: 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. / Sun: Noon-5:30 p.m.

© ARLINGTON HEIGHTS MEMORIAL LIBRARY