Reading Recommendations

cover image Mr. Popper's Penguins :) by By: Richard and Florence Atwater
Reviewed by Annie on 08/09/12
This has to be my favorite book by far! It starts off with the Popper family. Mr. Popper, Mrs. Popper, and the 2 kids. They are kinda poor. Mrs. Popper dosen't work. Mr. Popper's job is a painter. But, only a seasonal painter. He has a big heart and big imagination. He gets off task and paints cool things that his customers like! Mr. Popper loves the Artic and is sent a penguin. Its name is Captain Cook! He gets lonley and so they get another penguin. They have 8 babies! They have 10 penguins as pets and take good care of them. They get famous and the Popper's get rich! They train them alot for shows all over! They run into trouble along the way and have good times too! The penguins are funny and cute. The book is so good! I know I will read it again! 5 out of 5 stars from me! I won't spoil the end!
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

A Crack in the Line by Michael Lawrence
Reviewed by Diana S. on 08/07/12

This book is about a boy that finds out that when he touches his mother's bowl she carved, he goes to

his house, but with someone else living in it. A girl named Naia that has the same last name and looks

exactly like him lives there. They even have the same thoughts! After they meet, a chain of events go off.

The two teenagers uncover a truth that has the power to erase their very existence.

cover image The Serpent's Shadow by Richard Riordan
Reviewed by Jack on 08/01/12

Sadie and Carter Kane have awoken Apophis, the chaos serpent. They have to defeat him in a very small amount of time before he swallows the sun and plunges the world into eternal darkness allowing chaos to rule everything. But they have a hunch. After retrieving the shadow box from the Dallas Museum, they believe they could use it to execrate Apophis. In this book, the shadow is part of ones' soul. But there's only one guy who knows this magic.....Sethe, a murderous, back-stabbing, cruel, lying ghost. Will they destroy Apophis in time? It was one of the best books I've read. Adventurous, funny, exciting and fantasy, my favorite combo.

Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
Reviewed by Elisabeth M. on 07/27/12

Inkspell is a book packed with excitment. It is a thrilling 2nd story in the Inkspell trilogy that leaves you wanting more. It is a great book for any ages. I liked it a lot and think other people would too.

Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Chasing Vermeer by Blue Balliett
Reviewed by Becca on 07/21/12

Chasing Vermeer is an exciting mystery set in Chicago. It tells the story of two sixth grade kids named Petra and Caldar; that work togther to crack the case of a missing vermeer painting called *A Lady Writing*. They solve puzzles and crack codes. And finally found the painting. Read to find out the rest

                                                                          the end

Grades 3 - 4
Check catalog for this item

cover image Dork Diaries #1 by Rachel Renee Russell
Reviewed by Michelle on 07/16/12

I think its definitely funny, and i really loved it! It was interesting in so many ways, i read the book twice! The book has a nice plot to it, and the drama was there too, so it was in many was creative.

Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Lord Loss by Darren Shan
Reviewed by Oliver B on 07/15/12

It's a good book, recommended for ages 13+, as it is a little gruesome. It is an amazing story about a teenager by the name of Grubbs Grady, who returns from his aunt's home to find a demon and two of his familiars and his family killed. He then escapes unknowingly by using magic and is taking into Psychiatric care, then taken in by his uncle to find even more about the world and it's enemies.

Grades 7 - 8
Check catalog for this item

cover image Stuck in the mud by Jane Clarke
Reviewed by Nischolas on 07/11/12

I like A book. It is funny.Because the Chick is stuck in the mud!


Check catalog for this item

cover image Traction Man and the Beach Odyssey by Mini Grey
Reviewed by William on 07/11/12
Traction Man gets taken by a doggy who had a cute tail. They were in a sand castle at the beach. Traction Man and Scrubbing Brush to the rescue! I think this book is adventurous!
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Stella Batts Needs a New Name by Courtney Sheimel
The character wants a new name because her name is stella. she tries naming her name after a candy but eventually names it after a book store. In the end she loves her hame Stella because it's hers

Check catalog for this item

Live Chat

 

 

Follow Us

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on YouTube See AHML photos on Flickr! Download the AHML Mobile App

 

Home  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Site Search  |  Sitemap  |  Donate  |  Contact

Arlington Heights Memorial Library / 500 N. Dunton Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5910  Tel: 847-392-0100 / Fax: 847-506-2650

Library Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 a.m.-10 p.m. / Sat: 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. / Sun: Noon-5:30 p.m.

© ARLINGTON HEIGHTS MEMORIAL LIBRARY