Reading Recommendations

cover image smile by RAINA TELGEMEIER
Reviewed by GABY W on 02/12/13
SMILE IS ABOUT A GIRL NAMED RAINA HOW NOCKS OUT HER TO FRONT TEEHT AFTER A GIRL
MERTING.SHE HAS TO GET A LOT DENTAL WORK DONE ON HER TEETH.THIS BOOK TAKES PLACE
FROM WHEN RAINA IS IN 6TH GRADE TO WHEN SHE IS A SOPHMORE IN HIGH SCHOOL.
THIS BOOK IS BASTED ON A TRUE STORY. I THIK THIS BOOK IS PERFET FOR 4TH,5TH,AND 6TH     
GRADE READERS
 
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Notes From the Dog by Gary Paulsen
Reviewed by Andrew on 02/09/13
Notes From the Dog is about a boy named Finn who plans on talking to few people during the summer. He has to help his next-door neighbor, Johanna, go through breast cancer and what happens is an experience he'll never forget.
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image Candor  by Pam Bachorz
Reviewed by Seray on 02/07/13
 I read this book called Candor because I read the summary and it looked pretty interesting so when I first read it, the first chapter was pretty normal then I read a few more chapters and it was starting to get really interesting I WAS STAYING UP ALL NIGHT reading the book! because that's how good it was! my opinion is that if you want to read something new and is really sick of reading what you usually read. Then I would read this book for your reccomendation. I'll tell you a little about it: 
Teens respect their elders, do their chores, and enjoy homework... because they're controlled by sublimal messages. Oscar Banks (main character) is the son of the founder of town (Candor)  he is the model of perfection, class president, top student, and is shining example. Oscar knows how to break kids out of Candor for a price. If Oscar or any of the kids get caught  they will be sent straight to the Listening Room and what the Listening Room is adults put messages into your brain and they erase your brain clean so you will controlled by messages and you will forget your personality so it's like your brainwashed. A new girl named Nia moves to town and Oscar smitten by her attitude and abilities and he has to sneak her but it will be very risky but will Oscar have to help Nia escape out of Candor and lose her forever or keep close and risk exposure?  
Well guys I hope you read the book to find out :)
 
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

cover image The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan
Reviewed by Julia on 02/02/13
This is the first book of the Kane Chronicles. If you're  looking for a fun story that
is based on Egyptian mythology, then I would reccomend this one.
It is about a brother and sister, Carter and Sadie Kane, who have almost
been strangers for most of their life. Now they will join forces to try and
defeat the God of Chaos, Set.
 
Grades 3 - 4
Check catalog for this item

cover image encore, opera cat! by tess weaver
Reviewed by emily l on 01/19/13
i liked this  book because it was about a singing cat. 
her name was alma.  she did funny things like dress up.
she was in the opera and she sang loud.
at the end evryone claped.
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Thanksgiving On Thursday by Mary Pope Osborn
Reviewed by Madison D on 01/15/13
Thanksgiveing On Thrusday is about Jack and Annie go to the first Tanksgiveing!  They meet  an Native American and  many pilgrims.  They help a girl named Pricella and a Native American named Squanto.  They enjoyed their first Thanksgiveing feast.  Ooops, Jack dropped the turkey in the fire. 
 
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel by Jeff Kinney
Reviewed by Jack on 01/11/13
This is the seventh book in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. This book starts out with Greg telling the story of when he was born. He came out 3 weeks early. He got a lot of hand-me-downs from his older brother. Then we get to present day. It is February and there is going to be a dance at school on Valentine's Day to raise money for the school. Greg is looking for a date to bring to the dance. He ends up finding one but they go as a friends group with his best friend Rowley too. They go out to dinner before the dance. They go to a nice dinner place and he has to wear sportscoat but they leave because Greg doesn't want to. So they go to a trashy place. At the end he gets Chicken Pox.
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Boo's dinosaur by Betsy byars
Reviewed by Saptarishi on 01/10/13
I liked the story. Especially when she found the Dino. The book is good, pictures are great. Simple for reading. Liked the Dino picture
Grades 1 - 2
Check catalog for this item

cover image Arthur Breaks The Bank by Marc Brown
Reviewed by Deetya S on 01/08/13
Arthur breaks his piggy bank because he wanted to buy a gift for DW. But DW hid the bank. But she gives the bank back, because she thought he is going to buy something silly. DW gave it bank when she finds that Arthur was going to buy something for her birthday.
Pre-K - K
Check catalog for this item

cover image Mysteries of the Komodo Dragon by Marty Crump
Reviewed by Emeline S on 01/04/13
In this book you will learn about a big lizard that lives on Komodo island. 
What I discovered is that komodo dragons can weigh 200 pounds or more.
From head to tail it can grow to 10 feet long!  Their most common prey is deer, boar, black rats, or each other.
Komodo dragons can even swim and climb trees too!  For the first and second year, komodo dragons live in trees and eat smaller prey.
The most amazing part of the komodo dragon is that they dont catch their prey, they will bite their prey then the bacteria from the dragons saliva will kill the prey in a week.  Komodo dragons have a good sense of smell so they will notice when their prey is ready to eat and they can eat a whole boar in seventeen minutes.
The other thing I was surprised about was a female does not need to have a male to give birth.  The female will only give birth to male dragons the first time.  She will then pick one of her sons and give birth again, this time male and female becomes random.
And when they grow up, they will do the same thing.
So those were the things I learned about komodo dragons.
 
Grades 5 - 6
Check catalog for this item

Live Chat

 

 

Follow Us

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on YouTube See AHML photos on Flickr! Download the AHML Mobile App

 

Home  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Site Search  |  Sitemap  |  Donate  |  Contact

Arlington Heights Memorial Library / 500 N. Dunton Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5910  Tel: 847-392-0100 / Fax: 847-506-2650

Library Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 a.m.-10 p.m. / Sat: 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. / Sun: Noon-5:30 p.m.

© ARLINGTON HEIGHTS MEMORIAL LIBRARY