Grade 5 - 6 Reviews

cover image Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
Reviewed by Andrew on 09/15/13
When Stargirl moves to town, Leo gets caught by surprise. He witnesses all of the strange things that Stargirl does and comes to love her. But when the rest of the school shuns her, it's up to Leo to save her from the mean people around her.
Grades 5 - 6
cover image Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Reviewed by Andrew on 08/21/13
When Raina trips on the hard floor, all hope of becoming popular in middle school is lost. She has to deal with boys, her friends teasing her, and many dentist and orthodontist appointments. Will she get through middle school and high school?
Grades 5 - 6
cover image The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann
Reviewed by Anja B. on 07/22/13
In the land of Quill, twins Alex and Aaron get separated at their community's only holiday,the Purge. The Purge is when all the thirteen-year-olds get put into groups, Wanted, Necessary, and Unwanted. Wanteds get to go to Quill's eqivalent of the army, Necessaries work on farms, and the Unwanteds die. When Alex and Aaron get separated, what will happen? This book was so good in many ways. Each chapter had many characters' perspectives. It connected to how we feel about siblings, how we hate and love them; just in this book, Alex and Aaron seem to hate each other more than love each other. If you like fantasy, dystopian or novels that have magic and major good versus bad fights, this book is good for you!
 
Grades 5 - 6
cover image smile by RAINA TELGEMEIER
Reviewed by GABY W on 02/12/13
SMILE IS ABOUT A GIRL NAMED RAINA HOW NOCKS OUT HER TO FRONT TEEHT AFTER A GIRL
MERTING.SHE HAS TO GET A LOT DENTAL WORK DONE ON HER TEETH.THIS BOOK TAKES PLACE
FROM WHEN RAINA IS IN 6TH GRADE TO WHEN SHE IS A SOPHMORE IN HIGH SCHOOL.
THIS BOOK IS BASTED ON A TRUE STORY. I THIK THIS BOOK IS PERFET FOR 4TH,5TH,AND 6TH     
GRADE READERS
 
Grades 5 - 6
cover image Notes From the Dog by Gary Paulsen
Reviewed by Andrew on 02/09/13
Notes From the Dog is about a boy named Finn who plans on talking to few people during the summer. He has to help his next-door neighbor, Johanna, go through breast cancer and what happens is an experience he'll never forget.
Grades 5 - 6
cover image Candor  by Pam Bachorz
Reviewed by Seray on 02/07/13
 I read this book called Candor because I read the summary and it looked pretty interesting so when I first read it, the first chapter was pretty normal then I read a few more chapters and it was starting to get really interesting I WAS STAYING UP ALL NIGHT reading the book! because that's how good it was! my opinion is that if you want to read something new and is really sick of reading what you usually read. Then I would read this book for your reccomendation. I'll tell you a little about it: 
Teens respect their elders, do their chores, and enjoy homework... because they're controlled by sublimal messages. Oscar Banks (main character) is the son of the founder of town (Candor)  he is the model of perfection, class president, top student, and is shining example. Oscar knows how to break kids out of Candor for a price. If Oscar or any of the kids get caught  they will be sent straight to the Listening Room and what the Listening Room is adults put messages into your brain and they erase your brain clean so you will controlled by messages and you will forget your personality so it's like your brainwashed. A new girl named Nia moves to town and Oscar smitten by her attitude and abilities and he has to sneak her but it will be very risky but will Oscar have to help Nia escape out of Candor and lose her forever or keep close and risk exposure?  
Well guys I hope you read the book to find out :)
 
Grades 5 - 6
cover image Mysteries of the Komodo Dragon by Marty Crump
Reviewed by Emeline S on 01/04/13
In this book you will learn about a big lizard that lives on Komodo island. 
What I discovered is that komodo dragons can weigh 200 pounds or more.
From head to tail it can grow to 10 feet long!  Their most common prey is deer, boar, black rats, or each other.
Komodo dragons can even swim and climb trees too!  For the first and second year, komodo dragons live in trees and eat smaller prey.
The most amazing part of the komodo dragon is that they dont catch their prey, they will bite their prey then the bacteria from the dragons saliva will kill the prey in a week.  Komodo dragons have a good sense of smell so they will notice when their prey is ready to eat and they can eat a whole boar in seventeen minutes.
The other thing I was surprised about was a female does not need to have a male to give birth.  The female will only give birth to male dragons the first time.  She will then pick one of her sons and give birth again, this time male and female becomes random.
And when they grow up, they will do the same thing.
So those were the things I learned about komodo dragons.
 
Grades 5 - 6
cover image About Average by Andrew Clements
Reviewed by Andrew on 12/13/12
Jordan Johnston is living an average life and being bullied by an average bully, Marlea Harkins. She gets average grade and has average classes. But when there's a tornado at her school in Salton, Illinois; it's up to her to save the whole orchestra.
Grades 5 - 6
cover image The Cay by Theodore Taylor
Reviewed by Andrew on 12/13/12
The Cay is about a boy named Phillip and a old black man, Timothy who have to survive on a desrted island because they got torpedoed of their ship by the Nazis. Phillip becomes blind, and Timothy has to help him survive. But then the hurrican swipes Timothy away. How will Phillip survive withot Timothy's help?
Grades 5 - 6
cover image Rules by Cynthia Lord
Reviewed by Andrew on 12/02/12
Rules is a book about a girl named Catherine who has an autistic brother, David. She is having a tough life dealing with him and is trying to be normal. When she meets a mute boy, Jason, who uses cards to talk, and a new neighbor, Kristi, she finally realizes that sometimes she has to make do and just be herself.
Grades 5 - 6

Live Chat

 

 

Follow Us

Like us on FacebookFollow us on TwitterFollow us on YouTube See AHML photos on Flickr! Download the AHML Mobile App

 

Home  |  Terms and Conditions  |  Site Search  |  Sitemap  |  Donate  |  Contact

Arlington Heights Memorial Library / 500 N. Dunton Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL 60004-5910  Tel: 847-392-0100 / Fax: 847-506-2650

Library Hours: Mon-Fri: 9 a.m.-10 p.m. / Sat: 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. / Sun: Noon-5:30 p.m.

© ARLINGTON HEIGHTS MEMORIAL LIBRARY