Help

Home Sweet Home is an online pinboard created to collect memories of life -- past and present -- in Arlington Heights.
 

Account Settings

Everyone is welcome to look at and comment on the memories shared on the Home Sweet Home website. However, if you wish to participate - share a memory, like or follow others on Home Sweet Home - you will need have an account.  The Home Sweet Home account is not tied to your library account.

login

  • Click the orange Create Account link at the top right of the screen. A form is displayed where you are asked to create a username and password.
  • Type your chosen username in the Username field. You may include most characters in a username - restrictions are noted on the form.
  • Type your email address in the Email field
    All emails from the system will be sent to this address. The email address is not made public and will only be used if you wish to receive a new password or wish to receive certain news or notifications by email.
  • Click the Create New Account button.

We all forget things from time to time. If you forget your username, or your password, help is just a click away.

If you are not logged in, you will see a Can't Login link at the top of the Home Sweet Home site.  

  • Click the Can't Log In link.
  • Type your email address in the box that appears.
  • Click the Email new password button.

You will receive an email from the Home Sweet Home site. The email will contain a a temporary link to log in and will take you to a page where you can set your password.

  • loginClick the orange My Account link at the top right of the screen. (My Account is only available when you are already logged in.)

     

  • Click the Edit tab to change account settings.
 
 

Changing Your Email Address

  • Type your current password in the Current password field.
    This is required.
  • Delete the existing email and type the new email address in the Email address field.
  • Click Save.

 

 

 

Changing Your Password

  • Type your current password in the Current password field.
    This is required.
  • Type the new password in the Password field.
  • Retype the new password in the Confirm password field./li>
  • Click Save.

user imageA profile picture is displayed along with every memory on Home Sweet Home - it's a quick way for people to recognize the memories of particular contributors. You'll see it along with the contributor's username beneath the memory.

Profile information (including the picture) is displayed  whenever someone clicks on a contributor's name or on a board name.

If you do not include a photo of yourself on your account page, Home Sweet Home displays the standard contributor image - a blue and orange house.  
 

Adding a Profile Picture

  • Click the orange My Account link at the top right of the screen. (My Account is only available when you are already logged in.)
  • Click the Edit tab on your account page
  • Scroll down to the "Picture" field - if you haven't uploaded a photograph, a picture of a blue and orange house is displayed
  • Click the Browse button to find a picture on your computer
  • Click the Save  button

Changing Your Profile Picture

You can change your profile picture at any time.

  • Click the orange My Account link at the top right of the screen. (My Account is only available when you are already logged in.)
  • Click the Edit tab on your account page
  • Scroll down to the "Picture" field
     
  • Click Delete picture
  • Click the Browse button to find a picture on your computer
  • Click the Save  button

The old picture is deleted and replaced with the new one.

 

 

Profile information is displayed whenever someone clicks on a contributor's name or on a board name. Including information about yourself is not required, and if you do not include profile information, nothing is displayed.

profile

  • Click the orange My Account link at the top right of the screen. (My Account is only available when you are already logged in.)
  • Click the Edit tab on your account page.
  • Scroll down to the About field and type (or change) what you would like to share about yourself.
  • Click Save.

Notifications are sent to your email address when there is activity relating to your contributions:

  • When new comments are made on a memory you have created
  • When a memory is "repinned"
  • When someone follows you
  • When someone "unfollows" you

Notifications are automatically set so that you receive only one notification until the next time you log in to the site.

Change notification settings

  • Click the orange My Account link at the top right of the screen. (My Account is only available when you are already logged in.)
  • Click the Notifications tab.
  • Select your notification preference for each of the notification types.
    • Always send notification will send a notification every time the type of action occurs.
    • Only one notification until the next login to the site (standard setting) sends only one notification, regardless of how many times the type of action occurs, until you login again.
    • Never send notification does not notifiy you if that action is taken.
  • Click the Save.
Scroll to top