No votes yet
(Login to add yours)
The Pick-up Game : A Full Day Of Full Court (2011)


(0 holds on 1 copy)
LocationCall NumberItem Status
Published: Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2011
Edition:  1st ed
Description:  170 p. : ill. ; 22 cm
ISBN/ISSN: 9780763645625 (hbk.), 0763645621 (hbk.), 0763645621 :,
Language:  English

A series of short stories by such authors as Walter Dean Myers, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Joseph Bruchac, interspersed with poems and photographs, provides different perspectives on a game of streetball played one steamy July day at the West 4th Street court in New York City known as The Cage


Step into the arena / Cage run / Next / Laws of motion / My boys / Mira mira / Wild cats / Virgins are lucky / profesor / Practice don't make perfect / fire inside / He's gotta have it / Back in the day / Head game / 24/7 / Just Shane / Represent / shoot / Afterword / El The The Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Walter Dean Myers -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Bruce Brooks -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Willie Perdomo -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Sharon G. Flake -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Robert Burleigh -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Rita Williams-Garcia -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Joseph Bruchac -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Adam Rapp -- Charles R. Smith, Jr. -- Robert Lipsyte -- Marc Aronson

Login to write a review of your own.

Reviews by AHML cardholders
Reviews from other readers
Login to add this item to your list.

Lists can be used to compile collections of items that you may be interested in checking out at a later date. You may also create public lists and share your favorites with other AHML customers.
No tags, currently.

Login to add tags.

To create a multiple word tag such as Science Fiction, enclose both words in quotes, like: "Science Fiction"

Public Lists

Deck the Halls by jkadus
Come solve these exciting and suspenseful YA mysteries!
Halloween by jkadus
Back to School by crossin
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. Simply put: we love this list to find talented authors.
The Abraham Lincoln Award is awarded annually to the author of the book voted as most outstanding by participating students in grades nine through twelve in Illinois
2014 Alex Award Winners by Teen Services